Walden University Organizing to Improve Environmental Health Discussion

Get perfect grades by consistently using www.assignmentgeeks.org. Place your order and get a quality paper today. Take advantage of our current 20% discount by using the coupon code GET20


Order a Similar Paper Order a Different Paper

Learning Resources

Optional Resources

Green Peace http://www.greenpeace.org/international/en/campaig…

Sierra Club https://www.sierraclub.org/

World Wildlife Fund https://www.worldwildlife.org/initiatives

National Wildlife Federation https://www.nwf.org/Home/Our-Work

African Wildlife Foundation http://www.awf.org/projects

Earth First http://www.earthfirst.org/about.htm

Union of Concerned Scientists http://www.ucsusa.org/

Sea Shepherd http://www.seashepherd.org/

National Resources Defense Council https://www.nrdc.org/work

Amazon Watch http://amazonwatch.org/about

Ocean Conservancy https://oceanconservancy.org/

Climate Central http://www.climatecentral.org/

The Bulletin of Atomic Scientists https://thebulletin.org/

Discussion: Organizing to Improve Environmental Health
Organizing to address environmental challenges and improve environmental health
Have you considered the ways that you affect the environment around you or how you, your family, or our society might mitigate those effects? Humans have a decided effect on the Earth’s environment and can put in motion actions that positively or negatively affect it. Unintended negative consequences now include air and water pollution, climate change, depletion of the ozone layer, ocean acidification, the extinction of many species, toxic chemicals in rivers, lakes, and in many of the fish we eat, and an alarming loss of wetland and forest habitats.
Many people today are looking more closely at the global issues we face and asking themselves: How can I help address the threats facing our environment? What leverage can I apply to improve the condition of the natural world? In communities around the world people are joining together with others in organizations to help protect or improve the health of the environment.
This Discussion will focus on environmental organizations that are helping to confront the environmental challenges that you and your colleagues identify.
To prepare for this Discussion
Review the Interactive Units for this week as well as the links posted by your professor and then conduct your own independent research.
Identify two organizations or groups that are addressing some of the environmental challenges that you find compelling or serious enough to warrant your attention. Choose at least one group that is addressing environmental challenges relevant to your local community. Alternatively you can focus your post on two groups that are causing environmental problems that you find compelling.
Reflect on how these dilemmas might be addressed, and what solutions you and other individuals can incorporate into your daily lives.
With these thoughts in mind, complete the following:
Spark Response Post (20 points):
By Day 2
Post a two or more paragraph response to the Discussion Spark posted by your professor in the Week 1 discussion forum on Monday (Day 1). Notice that your responses to the Discussion Spark, the primary research-based Discussion Topic, and your colleagues or professor will be graded together.

Primary Research-based Post (35 points):

Gabriel Clay WALDEN INSTRUCTOR MANAGER
Week 1 Spark: Environmental Challenges and Interests?!
COLLAPSE
Hi Everyone!
Every week we start Monday with a “Discussion Spark” which helps lead us into our primary research based discussion subject.
This week the discussion subject is a bit broader than most weeks so that we can all get a sense of the diversity of important environmental challenges and some of the ways people are organizing to meet them. So for this week we’ll start with a very simple spark.
In your spark response for this week, please post 2 or more paragraphs about either:
1) Two environmental issues that you find compelling, concerning, or interesting. Please include enough detail so that your colleagues and myself understand the issues and know why you chose them.
2) or alternatively you can post one one environmental issue that you find compelling and one aspect of your assigned reading that you found interesting enough that you wanted to describe it and discuss it some with your professor and classmates.

Please use the subject line of your post to indicate something interesting about your post. Try to draw readers into your post, so that everyone will want to read about the topics that you bring up! Lets have fun with this!

Writerbay.net

Do you need help with this or a different assignment? We offer CONFIDENTIAL, ORIGINAL (Turnitin/LopesWrite/SafeAssign checks), and PRIVATE services using latest (within 5 years) peer-reviewed articles. Kindly click on ORDER NOW to receive an A++ paper from our masters- and PhD writers.

Get a 15% discount on your order using the following coupon code SAVE15


Order a Similar Paper Order a Different Paper